News article

Gender equality key for FIBA Commissions and Working Groups appointments for 2023-2027 cycle

September 22 2023

FIBA has revealed its Commissions and Working Groups for the 2023-27 term following the first meeting of the newly elected Central Board.

Gender equality key for FIBA Commissions and Working Groups appointments for 2023-2027 cycle

Having assembled on the eve of the recent FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 Final in Manila, Philippines, the Central Board has confirmed all appointments, with a strong emphasis on working towards gender equality, which has delivered a number of important milestones.

As per the amendments to the FIBA General Statutes enacted by the FIBA Mid-Term Congress in 2021, the requirement to have at least 30 percent representation of both genders in each Commission has been implemented. In fact, the Central Board has appointed 35 percent of women across all FIBA Commissions.

For the first time, three out of seven FIBA Commissions are Chaired by a woman, and in two of the other four Commissions, the Deputy Chair is a woman. It will also be the first time the FIBA Appeals Panel is Chaired by a woman.

Meanwhile, the Central Board has appointed three women to the FIBA Foundation Board for the first time, including FIBA Hall of Famer Michelle Timms. Additionally, one of the two FIBA Foundation Advisory Committees is Chaired by a woman.

The majority of the women appointed as FIBA Commission members are either holding the office of President or Secretary General in their respective National Federations or they have attended one of FIBA’s dedicated programs designed as part of the ‘Women in Basketball’ strategic priority, such as the FIBA Adelante, the FIBA WiLEAD, the FIBA Africa Women’s Seminar and the FIBA TIME-OUT program.

This includes newly co-opted FIBA Central Board member Sonja Vasic, whose experience and success will be a welcome addition to the Players’ Commission. The Serbian legend boasts two FIBA Women’s EuroBasket titles and was MVP at the 2021 edition, as well as leading her country to other historic highs, such as a first Olympic appearance and maiden medal at Rio 2016, and also being a flag bearer at the Tokyo 2020 Games.

Notably, there is a second term for another playing legend in Dirk Nowitzki, who will continue to be Chair of the Players’ Commission. Sonja Vasic will serve as Deputy Chair.

To enhance global representation, the Central Board has decided that all five regions of FIBA are represented through a Chair or a Deputy Chair of a FIBA Commission.

FIBA Technical Commission
Chair of Commission – Ms. Eleonora Rangelova (BUL)
Deputy Chair of Commission – Mr. Patrick Hunt (AUS)
List of Commission members here.  

FIBA Legal Commission 
Chair of Commission – Ms. Erika Dy (PHI)
Deputy Chair of Commission – Mr. Yum Ramos Perales (PUR)
List of Commission members here.  

FIBA Players’ Commission 
Chair of Commission – Mr. Dirk Nowitzki (GER)
Deputy Chair of Commission – Ms. Sonja Vasic (SRB)
List of Commission members here.  

FIBA Finance Commission 
Chair of Commission – Mr. Ingo Weiss (GER)
Deputy Chair of Commission – Mr. Erick Thohir (INA)
List of Commission members here.  

FIBA Medical Commission
Chair of Commission – Dr. Peter Harcourt (AUS)
Deputy Chair of Commission – Dr. Souheil Sayegh (SUI)
List of Commission members here.  

FIBA 3×3 Commission
Chair of Commission – Ms. Carmen Tocala (ROU)
Deputy Chair of Commission – Mr. Ambrose Tashobya (UGA)
List of Commission members here.  

The FIBA Competitions Commission is chaired by Mr. Edgar Sneps (LAT) and divided across four groups, each led by a Deputy Chair:

FIBA Competitions Commission – Men’s National Teams 
Deputy Chair – Mr. Jim Tooley (USA)

FIBA Competitions Commission – Women’s National Teams
Deputy Chair – Ms. Pascale Mugwaneza (RWA)

FIBA Competitions Commission – Youth National Teams
Deputy Chair – Mr. Peter Bodnar (HUN)

FIBA Competitions Commission – Club Competitions
Deputy Chair – Mr. Serhan Antalyali (TUR)

The full list of the FIBA Competitions Commission members is here.

The Working Group on Empower National Federations will be chaired by Mr. Fabian Borro (ARG), with Deputy Chair in charge of FIBA PLUS Mr. Jean-Michel Ramaroson (MAD) and Deputy Chair in charge of FIBA Academy Ms. Carol Callan (USA). The Working Group on Masters Basketball will be chaired by Mr. Asterios Zois (GRE) with Deputy Chair Mr. Ned Cotten (AUS), while the Working Group on eFIBA will be chaired by Mr. Al Panlilio (PHI) with Deputy Chair Mr. Athos Antoniou (CYP).

As President of the Basketball Arbitral Tribunal, the Central Board has re-appointed Prof. Ulrich Haas (GER) and as Vice-President Mr. Raj Parker. The FIBA Appeal’s Panel Chair is Ms. Diana Tesic (SRB/CAN) and the Deputy Chair is Mr. Marek Palus (POL). New members of the FIBA Ethics Panel were also elected at the recent FIBA Congress and the panel will be chaired by Mr. Scott Derwin (AUS). The FIBA Safeguarding Council is chaired by HRH Prince Feisal Al Hussein (JOR).

The list of the FIBA Judicial and Other Bodies members is here.


About FIBA
FIBA ( – the world governing body for basketball, is an independent association formed by 212 National Basketball Federations throughout the world. It is recognized as the sole competent authority in basketball by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For further information about FIBA, visit or follow FIBA on, and

Read moreFIBA

    GSS Weekly Newsletter Registration

    Register your interest in receiving our free weekly sport and sustainability newsletter and get it delivered to your inbox every Thursday

    GSS Weekly Newsletter Benefits:

    • Free access to all the latest sustainability news and features

    • Free weekly newsletter featuring all the latest developments in sport and sustainability

    First name

    Last name